Visit Open-E website

Thread: Create FC Target and connect to it

Default Create FC Target and connect to it

Hey!

I got a problem with my FC Targets and DSSv6. Im using following config:

DSS 6.0up11.8101.3802 64bit (i know there's a newer one)
    Qlogic 2562 8Gbit Dualport for the Storage and Server
    What i want:
    I just want to get access to the FC target with a Win2k8 64bit RC2 Server.

- Set the Fiber channel to "Target".
    - I created a S/W raid - than the volume group - and the FC Target. (e.g. 50GB)
    - Just using the default group

Well, unfortunately im new in that kind of business, but what do i have to do, to connect to the defined target? I got no problems with iscsi targets... but FC.. wtf ^^

So i installed the SAN Surfer FC HBA Manager on the Win2k8 server to connect to the targets. Is this the right way?
    May there any problems with my 8Gbit qlogic cards?

Maybe anyone could help or explain that to me how to handle that, it would help me a lot!
    thx 4 any info!

Default no luck

I couldn't get my 8Gb Qlogic HBA working either.

alright, thx for the answer.
    I'll give it a try, with a 4Gbit Qlogic card. (HBA)

Quote Originally Posted by r3vo
    Hey!

I got a problem with my FC Targets and DSSv6. Im using following config:
    [...]
    Well, unfortunately im new in that kind of business, but what do i have to do, to connect to the defined target? I got no problems with iscsi targets... but FC.. wtf ^^

So i installed the SAN Surfer FC HBA Manager on the Win2k8 server to connect to the targets. Is this the right way?
    May there any problems with my 8Gbit qlogic cards?

Maybe anyone could help or explain that to me how to handle that, it would help me a lot!
    thx 4 any info!
    r3vo,

aside the already mentioned difficulties that could arise from using the 256x card, here's some general info on how the puzzle pieces are to be put together: