Visit Open-E website
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Infiniband...

Default Infiniband...

Hi, I've been tasked with setting up a storage network based on infiniband. Its a challenge for me as I'm new to this technology but I've been doing my research and in the process of educating myself I've stumbled upon open-e.

My project requires the creation of storage servers to use with CentOS/Xen hypervisors and as such I'm looking at using infiniband cards with the Mellanox ConnectX-2 chipset (MT25408) which is a QDR card, along with a QDR switch. I'm also considering the LSI MegaRAID SAS 9260-16i controller.

I note that open-e doesnt support SRP which is a shame and I can see that open-e appears lacking somewhat in its infiniband support. I'd like to hear from anyone who has had success with open-e and IPoIB and would appreciate any helpful advice or comments. I'm also interested in hearing about how replication works with open-e as I plan to pair up each storage server for resilience. Can it replicate over IB? Do I need a second interface?

Thanks for your time.

Yeah, I'd like to see SRP support as well, but until it gets into SCST, we won't see it in Open-E.
    OpenE supports IPoIB so yes, you can push replication traffic over it. It *should* be treated just like another eth[*] int.
    I would suggest you look into Fibre Channel if you have a budget for IB. You'll get great performance the the FC target is very stable. 4GB FB HBAs and switches are going for cheap on ebay these days.

10GBe is also a very good and reasonably inexpensive (compared to IB) option. An Intel dual-port CX4 adapter should cost around $700 USD. Intel also has 10GbaseT adapters (which use Cat6e cables) bt I don't know the pricing off-hand.

Don't even think about 10G over Cat6...
    Read http://catalog2.corning.com/CorningC...LAN-803-EN.pdf

Quote Originally Posted by enealDC
    Great find !

eneal,