Visit Open-E website

Thread: Open-E DSS v6 and the competition

Thumbs up Open-E DSS v6 and the competition

I was invited to post about a recent blog post that I did where I was comparing the Trial version of DSS v6 against the like of Openfiler and Freenas.

First let me tell you a little about me and why I blog.

I am an IT Consultant working in London, England. I have a keen interest in Virtualisation (predominantly VMware vSphere with a little bit of Hyper-V thrown in occasionally) and wanted to create my own blog about my experiences with Virtualisation and Home Lab environments in general.

Part of my testing was trying to determine which shared storage solution was going to work best for me, I currently own a couple of the Iomega IX4-200d’s as well as a HP Microserver and I wanted to ensure that the best device was being used for my shared storage needs.

A lot of the VMware blogging community use the IX4s as their shared storage solution but wanted to know if there was anything else out there worth a look. This is where Open-E DSS v6, Openfiler, Freenas and a couple of other solutions come in.
    Initial testing so far has been carried out using the IX4, Openfiler and DSS v6, a small amount of testing was carried out on Freenas 8 (RC5) but due to issues with the iSCSI stack I have stopped testing that until a new release is out.

I knew very little about Open-E and the DSS product, in fact my initial testing was carried out using the IX4 and Openfiler but further investigations highlighted DSS and a couple of ZFS based solutions as well.

Initial impressions on DSS were very good, it’s really very easy to install and the management interface is nice to work with and fairly easy to understand and navigate, use of the console to carry out some tasks (deletion of Units to create new RAID arrays) was also straight forward (unlike some *nix commands, I am not a *nix guy).