Visit Open-E website

Thread: cart before the horse?

Default cart before the horse?

I have my registered copy of DSS lite and a fresh windows server 2008 running Identity Services for Unix ( user mapping) and all other services needed.

I read the dss lite manual it gives step by step instructions on setting up users/groups/shares etc. My problem is getting past the joining of the dss server and the active directory. I need step by steps for joining to ADS-Kerberos on WS2008 (or 2003) from the web manager of DSS. It should be no different from 2003, in fact easier because all the software components are included to do this in '08. Much better unix tools now in '08. I'm a good tech but not an Active directory-unix NIS integration guru.

Any help would be nice. Thanks.
    Tom

We don’t have any tests with Windows 2008 but should be the same as you stated. Instructions are simple to connect enter the Realm name of your Windows 2000/2003 server and KDC IP address must be taken from the same system as the Realm. Make sure to have the administrator login and password. Check the timing to not be offset of more than 5min. Add the DSS LITE to your ADS server also set in you Windows DNS forward and reverse zones.
    All the best,

Todd Maxwell

Follow the red "E"
    Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Thanks Todd. Your answer was helpful but cryptic, imo. I need a step by step on AD-NIS server 2003 that will connect the two servers. I looked up REALM, but all I got was FQDN answers not a realm definition or how to use.

Compared to the ad users/groups instructions this AD-NIS has me baffled even after 4 hrs of googling and forums at Msoft and here. The articles are complex with kerberos, AD, linux modules etc. I'm not a noob tech-17 years in but ISCSI SAN do it yourself and sell Open-e with them is prolly out of my reach based on the lack and quality of the DSS documentation.

Add to DNS zones? This server is not a web site, so I'm lost there too.